Thank you, Geddy Lee...

Entertainment

Moderators: ajish4, cjj

wayang

Thank you, Geddy Lee...

Post by wayang »

...and Bjorn Eriksson and The Rickenbacker Forum, too, of course...but if it weren't for Geddy, I don't know if, when or for how much I would have been able to sell my 4080/12. It's been hard not to blurt it out onto these pages during the precarious process, but now that the deal is done here I am blurting...I sold it to an American guy who plays in a Rush tribute band. I told him about this Forum, and if he decides to sign on and reveal his identity, well that's up to him...otherwise, I won't be giving out his name or location, or the price he paid. I can tell you that I think it sets a new record for one of these; maybe that can be established at some point.
So now I'm down to one Rick, from a once-upon-a-time high of five...but I've been playing the one I still have for 31 years, and I'll be playing it out for another 31, so hopefully that's enough to justify my continuing membership in the forum. I'm missing having a fretted 4001, but the guy I sold my '76 'Tobaccoburst' to said he would sell it back to me anytime...I'll see if he means it. Someday, I'm gonna have to have another Rick twelve...I'll be sniffing around here asking questions when that day comes.
It was tough parting with the 4080, but my infrastructure needed bolstering badly...my wife (who was never insistent on doing this and was in fact a little sad about it too) refers to this as my "Stabilization Grant", and it feels good to be "stabilized". I'm really happy that it's gone to a player, as it turns out.
I'm working on a 3D computer model of it to go with the one I did of my 4001, and I'm discovering some interesting things in the process...I'll display my findings here when I get the 4080 model done.