Singing lessons

Putting music theory into practice
nattiep
Advanced Member

Singing lessons

Post by nattiep »

I've been trying to up my singing technique recently and my dad told me to sing Queensryche really loud. I've been doing that, and I've been hitting notes I never thought I could do without going falsetto, but I've noticed it's in my throat and when I go higher my voice gets quieter.

Should I get real lessons? I'd like to be a lead singer/bass player. It'd cut down the need for extra people in a band. My mother, mother's friends and auntie have told me I'm great, but my dad says I suck. He's all ego though. Image

I'd like real lessons though. I'm a self taught bass player, but I don't know how to self teach singing techniques.
1976 Rickenbacker 4001
2011/05 Fender Standard Fretless Jazz Bass
2005/11 Fender Standard Jazz Bass
winston
Membership Admin

Post by winston »

Nate, at a very young age, I took singing lessons. I highly recommend that you do too. Particularly if you have the desire to sing. You need to learn how how you use the diaphragm to create volume, sustain and clarity. Pitch is another matter. It involves developing your "ear".
“We can't solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them.” - Albert Einstein

"You do not really understand something unless you can explain it to your grandmother" - Albert Einstein
tony_carey
Advanced Member

Post by tony_carey »

IMO it is ESSENTIAL Nate.....it will be one of the best investments that you will ever make!
'Rickenbacker'...what a name! After all these years, it still thrills me.
jdogric12
Rick-a-holic

Post by jdogric12 »

Even one or two lessons from a pro will help a lot.

Here's a very good piece of advice I got right after being hired at a dueling piano bar: "If anyone pays you a compliment, they are wrong. Don't listen to them. You suck." At first it sounded harsh and ridiculous, but eventually I saw he was right.