Harmony Wheel and Mode Question for bass

Putting music theory into practice
charlyg

Harmony Wheel and Mode Question for bass

Post by charlyg »

I just received this wonderful little tool called the harmony wheel from: http://www.ducksdeluxe.com/harwheel.html

It is quite a nice visual tool for figuring this stuff out.

I am also studying a book called Fretboard Logic for Bass.

Between the two of them, some holes in my knowledge of theory are being filled.

However, it also brings up questions.........

Here's one: What does a bass player do with the differing modes? If it is still in the same key, using the same notes as the major scale, just starting and ending on different notes, how does it affect what I should play?

Please note, these may seem like dumb questions, but that is why they are holes!
jdogric12
Rick-a-holic

Post by jdogric12 »

Charly, can you give a specific example? I'm not sure I understand exactly what you are asking, and don't want to answer incorrectly.
charlyg

Post by charlyg »

Ok, You have the major scale (Ionian). Now, if changes to Mixolydian, how does that affect what I play? Is a I IV V chord progession affected by the mode,or vice versa? Why do I want to change the mode anyway? And how do I know that it has changed, it's all the same notes?
jdogric12
Rick-a-holic

Post by jdogric12 »

Okay, let's use C as an example.

C Ionian is C D E F G A B C. I is major (C E G), IV is major (F A C), V is major (G B D).

C Mixolydian is C D E F G A Bb C. I is major (C E G), IV is major (F A C), but now v is minor, hence the small letter v (G Bb D).

If you want to keep the key of C, but play in Mixolydian, try G Mixolydian. G A B C D E Fnatural G. Again, I is M, IV is M, v is m (D F A as opposed to D F# A which is D major, which is found in G Ionian, or G major).

Another way to look at it (CAPS are Major, small letters are minor, and a "*" denotes diminished)...

Ionian: I ii iii IV V vi vii*
or, C d- e- F G a- b*