Stretching out

Putting music theory into practice
charlyg

Stretching out

Post by charlyg »

It has come to my attention, that if I want to grow as a musician, I need to play with a different set of folks than the ones in the praise band. One is a songwriter(acoustic guitar), one a high school student(piano), the lead has had training, but long ago, and is not "fired up" enough to stretch. Oh, and the lead singer is a former barbershop quartet singer. He is the one dragging down the tempo....

I seem to be the only one who wants to expand my horizons and stretch beyond what I now know, or do.

I have decided to keep the new Dean upright electric at work and ONLY play melody on it for a while. I will just bring in music books and play melodies until I get REAL comfortable on the instrument. That should pay tremendous dividends!

Anyways, one of the things I am thinking of, is putting out an ad to form a Gospel Blues Band. I tried this once before, and had folks ready, but it never got off the ground due to a trip back to SDak to be with my Dad during the loss of his leg in 94. It is now 12 years later and I am itching to try this again but I am worried about being "the guy" as I have no experience running a band. Obviously, with the nature of the music, it wouldn't be a bar band.

Any thoughts?
kcole4001

Post by kcole4001 »

It sounds like a great idea.

It's a good opportunity to adapt to different circumstances & learn to 'read' other players (ie: ones you're not already used to), learn bits from them, teach them some of your own, etc.

It also gets you out of a rut & makes things feel new again to a certain extent.
Plus five minus five!
Scastles

Post by Scastles »

Charly, I concur. I have wanted to do the same. I have been with the same guys for, too long. A change is good. New learning experiences, new challenges and new sounds is a good thing.
---------------------------------------------------------------
Music is too important to be left to professionals.