Just purchased MY first RIC Guitar!

Putting music theory into practice
ajish4
RRF Moderator

Just purchased MY first RIC Guitar!

Post by ajish4 »

Now how the hell do I play this thing? LOL!

Seriously,

I'm venturing into the realm of 6 strings! I picked up a 1995 360 MG. I have plans for it in the future, but I have to say, this thing is amazing. The action is SO LOW, fretting is almost effortless! The strings don't cut into my fingers like every previous guitar I've tried to play. The strings are almost like flats! Is that possible?

The poor thing had a horrible past, it appears some sat on the thing, the neck was repaired but the signs of the damage are easy to see, up and down the neck, but it was repaired very nicely.

My QUESTION is, WHERE DO I START? Which book or video is good for a TOTAL beginner? I can't do the lesson thing, so I have to do this on my own. I stumbled and struggled with bass for years, I'd like to try to get this right from the start...

Thanks!
"Freedom of expression is important, but I have learned that people want to know how much you care before they care how much you know."
The only time a bass player gets noticed is when he stops playing.
sowhat
RRF Consultant

Post by sowhat »

I could send you my chord table. ;-) What kind of guitar is this? Mean model and such...
Oh, and congrats. Image
Nothing will get you dead quicker than being deadly serious about yourself.
beatlefreak

Post by beatlefreak »

Congrats. Tony. Welcome to the world of Rickenbacker six strings. I suggest that you get someone to show you a few chords, then just work on chord changes and strumming. Find a couple of easy songs to play along with.
Ka is a wheel.
jps
RRF Consultant

Post by jps »

Think of it as a very small six string piccolo bass! Image
lyle_from_minneapolis
Advanced Member

Post by lyle_from_minneapolis »

Hey Kris, what were you "belting out" in those pics at the confluence? I didn't know you were a singer!

Congrats again, Tony!