Is this one legit?

Vintage, Modern, V & C series, Fretless, Signature & Special Editions

Moderators: rickenbrother, ajish4

User avatar
RickyBubba
Intermediate Member
Posts: 657
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 11:58 am

Is this one legit?

Post by RickyBubba »

I'm still learning, and a few things about this one make me go hmmm.....like the fairly dark fretboard.

Maybe lighting, maybe a refin? Just doesn't all look right.....but I'm still a learnin'.....

And no, I'm not interested in this one, so have at it!

http://www.ebay.com/itm/1974-Rickenback ... 589b863da2
User avatar
simer4001
Veteran RRF member
Posts: 4288
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2000 8:14 pm

Re: Is this one legit?

Post by simer4001 »

He certainly is apologizing for all the "confusion".
User avatar
weemac
Veteran RRF member
Posts: 2735
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2002 1:28 am

Re: Is this one legit?

Post by weemac »

It looks real but it has been refretted..

Eden.
I confused Faraday's cage, with Schrodinger's cat box....
User avatar
BAD RONBO, KiLLeR DWaRfS
Professional Player
Posts: 1857
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 11:58 pm

Re: Is this one legit?

Post by BAD RONBO, KiLLeR DWaRfS »

the fretboard inlays are to sharp on the corners. should be more rounded. i have a '73 inlay and my '75 here and they are rounded. but then, who knows.
User avatar
jps
RRF Consultant
Posts: 37507
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2003 6:00 am

Re: Is this one legit?

Post by jps »

This one is a current CI in the register, I saw it in there a few days ago. I believe it to be a faker so I was surprised to find it in the register as a real Rick.

http://www.rickresource.com/register/vi ... 6order%3D7
User avatar
weemac
Veteran RRF member
Posts: 2735
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2002 1:28 am

Re: Is this one legit?

Post by weemac »

H'mm it was just added to give it some sort of credibility by the look of it. I see the serial does not match the rest of its specs.
On closer observation it looks to be fake with a genuine trc, serial plate and possibly neck pickup..
The strap bolt position on the top horn looks to be in the wrong position (and the wrong type), wrong machines and the bridge could be fake too (I cant get a good look at the holes)

Him Fake, me thinks now..

Eden.
I confused Faraday's cage, with Schrodinger's cat box....
User avatar
sloop_john_b
Rick-a-holic
Posts: 13843
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 6:00 am

Re: Is this one legit?

Post by sloop_john_b »

Fake.
User avatar
rickyfricky
Intermediate Member
Posts: 692
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 9:09 pm

Re: Is this one legit?

Post by rickyfricky »

The numbers on the jackplate look odd. Especially the 8's.

Caveat emptor! :twisted:
Watch those teeth, Marlin. I'm not sure we've properly sedated the beast . . .
User avatar
RickyBubba
Intermediate Member
Posts: 657
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 11:58 am

Re: Is this one legit?

Post by RickyBubba »

Glad ya'll agree....I guess I have been learnin' some stuff. There were a couple of Corsair fakers last week, and one looked much more geninue than this...but they were listed as fakers. Amazed they even stayed to complete.

I'll eventually snag a 4001, but gotta do some savin' up...and more learnin'!
User avatar
vulcan_creedler
Member
Posts: 227
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 5:12 am

Re: Is this one legit?

Post by vulcan_creedler »

I can't quite see for 100% certainty, but it looks like there IS binding under the bridge. If so, its a faker!

Also - something about the tailpiece doen't seem right. (The part below the mute bolt, where it starts to taper seems a bit too sharp)

I reckon it's a 20ft bargepole job!
"Infamy, Infamy, They've all got it in for me" - Kenneth Williams


1988 JG 4003
User avatar
cjj
RRF Moderator
Posts: 10932
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2008 6:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Is this one legit?

Post by cjj »

vulcan_creedler wrote:I can't quite see for 100% certainty, but it looks like there IS binding under the bridge. If so, its a faker!

Also - something about the tailpiece doen't seem right. (The part below the mute bolt, where it starts to taper seems a bit too sharp)

I reckon it's a 20ft bargepole job!
Yes, I agree, several things don't look right, but I do think the binding has a gap at the end of the body. Still a bit hard to tell, but adjusting the brightness and contrast a bit, the binding does appear to stop near the corners of the tailpiece...
2-fullsize.jpg
I have NO idea what to do with those skinny stringed things... I'm just a bass player...
User avatar
vulcan_creedler
Member
Posts: 227
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 5:12 am

Re: Is this one legit?

Post by vulcan_creedler »

cjj wrote: but I do think the binding has a gap at the end of the body. Still a bit hard to tell, but adjusting the brightness and contrast a bit, the binding does appear to stop near the corners of the tailpiece...
2-fullsize.jpg
hmm - yes - with the contrast cranked up, it does look likes binding stops.

I'll email the seller, and ask for a picture!
"Infamy, Infamy, They've all got it in for me" - Kenneth Williams


1988 JG 4003
User avatar
badeggs
Intermediate Member
Posts: 865
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 5:04 am

Re: Is this one legit?

Post by badeggs »

I...don't know. Though the photos are pretty dark, the jackplate looks okay, as do the TRC, the tailpiece (correct string-hole shape from what I can tell), the guard looks like the correct plexiglas. The fretboard is a little dark but again it could just be bad lighting/lousy photos. The stripe doesn't have that "too fat" look that all fakers have. The inlays aren't wildly colored or too shiny like fakers and they have rounded corners, they look correct. The binding appears to stop under the tailpiece. You can see green peeking out on the edges of the treble pickup...even the knobs are right. It's been refretted and the strap bolts were replaced.

The only red flag I see are those super-phony Grovers which you usually only find on fakers.

Am I missing something obvious here? It looks like a legit 74, 75 to me...or at the very least a fake with nearly all genuine parts on it.

Still, why take a chance when undeniably legit ones are all over ebay, right?
User avatar
vulcan_creedler
Member
Posts: 227
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 5:12 am

Re: Is this one legit?

Post by vulcan_creedler »

vulcan_creedler wrote:
cjj wrote: but I do think the binding has a gap at the end of the body. Still a bit hard to tell, but adjusting the brightness and contrast a bit, the binding does appear to stop near the corners of the tailpiece...
2-fullsize.jpg
hmm - yes - with the contrast cranked up, it does look likes binding stops.

I'll email the seller, and ask for a picture!
And the response to my request:

"Thanks! Unfortunately I can't get a pic to you today, I am out of town for business until tomorrow and the auction will end before I can get the picture. I can tell you though that it plays awesome."

BTW - the jack plate is on upside down too, not that that makes it a faker!
"Infamy, Infamy, They've all got it in for me" - Kenneth Williams


1988 JG 4003
User avatar
badeggs
Intermediate Member
Posts: 865
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 5:04 am

Re: Is this one legit?

Post by badeggs »

vulcan_creedler wrote:BTW - the jack plate is on upside down too, not that that makes it a faker!
Ha, didn't even notice that!

"I can tell you though that it plays awesome." Well, that's a relief...
Post Reply

Return to “Rickenbacker Basses: by Joey Vasco & Tony Cabibe”