Is this one legit?
Moderators: rickenbrother, ajish4
- RickyBubba
- Intermediate Member
- Posts: 657
- Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 11:58 am
Is this one legit?
I'm still learning, and a few things about this one make me go hmmm.....like the fairly dark fretboard.
Maybe lighting, maybe a refin? Just doesn't all look right.....but I'm still a learnin'.....
And no, I'm not interested in this one, so have at it!
http://www.ebay.com/itm/1974-Rickenback ... 589b863da2
Maybe lighting, maybe a refin? Just doesn't all look right.....but I'm still a learnin'.....
And no, I'm not interested in this one, so have at it!
http://www.ebay.com/itm/1974-Rickenback ... 589b863da2
Re: Is this one legit?
He certainly is apologizing for all the "confusion".
Re: Is this one legit?
It looks real but it has been refretted..
Eden.
Eden.
I confused Faraday's cage, with Schrodinger's cat box....
- BAD RONBO, KiLLeR DWaRfS
- Professional Player
- Posts: 1857
- Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 11:58 pm
Re: Is this one legit?
the fretboard inlays are to sharp on the corners. should be more rounded. i have a '73 inlay and my '75 here and they are rounded. but then, who knows.
Re: Is this one legit?
This one is a current CI in the register, I saw it in there a few days ago. I believe it to be a faker so I was surprised to find it in the register as a real Rick.
http://www.rickresource.com/register/vi ... 6order%3D7
http://www.rickresource.com/register/vi ... 6order%3D7
Re: Is this one legit?
H'mm it was just added to give it some sort of credibility by the look of it. I see the serial does not match the rest of its specs.
On closer observation it looks to be fake with a genuine trc, serial plate and possibly neck pickup..
The strap bolt position on the top horn looks to be in the wrong position (and the wrong type), wrong machines and the bridge could be fake too (I cant get a good look at the holes)
Him Fake, me thinks now..
Eden.
On closer observation it looks to be fake with a genuine trc, serial plate and possibly neck pickup..
The strap bolt position on the top horn looks to be in the wrong position (and the wrong type), wrong machines and the bridge could be fake too (I cant get a good look at the holes)
Him Fake, me thinks now..
Eden.
I confused Faraday's cage, with Schrodinger's cat box....
- sloop_john_b
- Rick-a-holic
- Posts: 13843
- Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 6:00 am
- rickyfricky
- Intermediate Member
- Posts: 692
- Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 9:09 pm
Re: Is this one legit?
The numbers on the jackplate look odd. Especially the 8's.
Caveat emptor!
Caveat emptor!
Watch those teeth, Marlin. I'm not sure we've properly sedated the beast . . .
- RickyBubba
- Intermediate Member
- Posts: 657
- Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 11:58 am
Re: Is this one legit?
Glad ya'll agree....I guess I have been learnin' some stuff. There were a couple of Corsair fakers last week, and one looked much more geninue than this...but they were listed as fakers. Amazed they even stayed to complete.
I'll eventually snag a 4001, but gotta do some savin' up...and more learnin'!
I'll eventually snag a 4001, but gotta do some savin' up...and more learnin'!
- vulcan_creedler
- Member
- Posts: 227
- Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 5:12 am
Re: Is this one legit?
I can't quite see for 100% certainty, but it looks like there IS binding under the bridge. If so, its a faker!
Also - something about the tailpiece doen't seem right. (The part below the mute bolt, where it starts to taper seems a bit too sharp)
I reckon it's a 20ft bargepole job!
Also - something about the tailpiece doen't seem right. (The part below the mute bolt, where it starts to taper seems a bit too sharp)
I reckon it's a 20ft bargepole job!
"Infamy, Infamy, They've all got it in for me" - Kenneth Williams
1988 JG 4003
1988 JG 4003
Re: Is this one legit?
Yes, I agree, several things don't look right, but I do think the binding has a gap at the end of the body. Still a bit hard to tell, but adjusting the brightness and contrast a bit, the binding does appear to stop near the corners of the tailpiece...vulcan_creedler wrote:I can't quite see for 100% certainty, but it looks like there IS binding under the bridge. If so, its a faker!
Also - something about the tailpiece doen't seem right. (The part below the mute bolt, where it starts to taper seems a bit too sharp)
I reckon it's a 20ft bargepole job!
I have NO idea what to do with those skinny stringed things... I'm just a bass player...
- vulcan_creedler
- Member
- Posts: 227
- Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 5:12 am
Re: Is this one legit?
hmm - yes - with the contrast cranked up, it does look likes binding stops.cjj wrote: but I do think the binding has a gap at the end of the body. Still a bit hard to tell, but adjusting the brightness and contrast a bit, the binding does appear to stop near the corners of the tailpiece...
I'll email the seller, and ask for a picture!
"Infamy, Infamy, They've all got it in for me" - Kenneth Williams
1988 JG 4003
1988 JG 4003
Re: Is this one legit?
I...don't know. Though the photos are pretty dark, the jackplate looks okay, as do the TRC, the tailpiece (correct string-hole shape from what I can tell), the guard looks like the correct plexiglas. The fretboard is a little dark but again it could just be bad lighting/lousy photos. The stripe doesn't have that "too fat" look that all fakers have. The inlays aren't wildly colored or too shiny like fakers and they have rounded corners, they look correct. The binding appears to stop under the tailpiece. You can see green peeking out on the edges of the treble pickup...even the knobs are right. It's been refretted and the strap bolts were replaced.
The only red flag I see are those super-phony Grovers which you usually only find on fakers.
Am I missing something obvious here? It looks like a legit 74, 75 to me...or at the very least a fake with nearly all genuine parts on it.
Still, why take a chance when undeniably legit ones are all over ebay, right?
The only red flag I see are those super-phony Grovers which you usually only find on fakers.
Am I missing something obvious here? It looks like a legit 74, 75 to me...or at the very least a fake with nearly all genuine parts on it.
Still, why take a chance when undeniably legit ones are all over ebay, right?
- vulcan_creedler
- Member
- Posts: 227
- Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 5:12 am
Re: Is this one legit?
And the response to my request:vulcan_creedler wrote:hmm - yes - with the contrast cranked up, it does look likes binding stops.cjj wrote: but I do think the binding has a gap at the end of the body. Still a bit hard to tell, but adjusting the brightness and contrast a bit, the binding does appear to stop near the corners of the tailpiece...
I'll email the seller, and ask for a picture!
"Thanks! Unfortunately I can't get a pic to you today, I am out of town for business until tomorrow and the auction will end before I can get the picture. I can tell you though that it plays awesome."
BTW - the jack plate is on upside down too, not that that makes it a faker!
"Infamy, Infamy, They've all got it in for me" - Kenneth Williams
1988 JG 4003
1988 JG 4003
Re: Is this one legit?
Ha, didn't even notice that!vulcan_creedler wrote:BTW - the jack plate is on upside down too, not that that makes it a faker!
"I can tell you though that it plays awesome." Well, that's a relief...
